Stena Line

Founded in 1962 in Sweden. Acquired Sessan Line in 1981, Lion Ferry in 1983, Crown Line in 1989 and Sealink British Ferries in 1990. The latter was renamed in following years, first to Sealink Stena Line then Stena Sealink Line and finally Stena Line in 1996. In 1998 operations at Dover and Newhaven were merged with those of P&O European Ferries to form the joint venture P&O Stena Line. P&O acquired Stena Line's share in P&OSL in 2002. The Felixstowe operations of P&O European Ferries were acquired in 2002 and the Fleetwood-Larne route of P&O Irish Sea in 2004. Following the takeover by DFDS Seaways of Norfolk Line, the latter's Irish Sea routes were acquired by Stena Line.